UNL’s No. 2 administrator is a finalist for top job at University of Tennessee-Knoxville

UNL’s No. 2 administrator is a finalist for top job at University of Tennessee-Knoxville

The No. 2 administrator at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln is a finalist for the No. 1 job at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville.

Donde Plowman has been UNL’s executive vice chancellor since the start of 2017. Plowman is one of four finalists, according to a University of Tennessee announcement.

Before becoming the No. 2 administrator at UNL, she was the dean of UNL’s business college for six years. Before that, she was at the University of Texas-San Antonio and other places.

She is expected to participate in a finalists’ forum at Tennessee-Knoxville and visit the campus early next week.

UNL spokeswoman Leslie Reed referred questions to Plowman. Plowman couldn’t be reached immediately by email Wednesday.

Other finalists for the chancellor’s job at Tennessee are Brian Noland, president of East Tennessee State University; William Tate, dean of the graduate school at Washington University in St. Louis; and Bill Hardgrave, provost at Auburn University.

All of the finalists are scheduled to visit the campus next week.

University of Nebraska announces winners of top faculty awards

University of Nebraska President Hank Bounds has announced the winners of NU’s top faculty awards.

They went to five faculty members, one from the University of Nebraska at Omaha and four from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

They are UNL’s Lloyd Bell, Kwame Dawes, Evgeny Tsymbal and Mario Scalora, and UNO’s William Mahoney.

Outstanding Teaching and Instructional Creativity Awards went to Bell, a professor in the UNL Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communication; and UNO’s Mahoney, associate professor in the School of Interdisciplinary Informatics and chairman of the graduate program in cybersecurity.

Outstanding Research and Creativity Awards went to UNL’s Dawes, professor of English and editor of “Prairie Schooner”; and UNL’s Tsymbal, professor of physics.

The Innovation, Development and Engagement Award went to UNL’s Scalora, professor of psychology and director of the NU system’s Public Policy Center.

Those are the NU system’s most prestigious awards for teaching, research and engagement. Winners were selected by an NU-wide committee. The winners will receive $10,000 each.