Nominees for vacant spot on Nebraska Supreme Court narrowed to three

LINCOLN — A judicial nominating commission has selected three finalists to fill a vacancy on the Nebraska Supreme Court.

The commission picked Ryan C. Carson of Gibbon, James E. Doyle IV of Lexington and John R. Freudenberg of Lincoln and forwarded the names to Gov. Pete Ricketts for consideration.

Carson is an attorney at the Jacobsen Orr law firm in Kearney.

Doyle is a district judge who joined southwest Nebraska’s 11th Judicial District Court in 2001.

Freudenberg has been a judge in Lancaster County Court since 2017. Prior to becoming a judge, Freudenberg was the criminal bureau chief in the Nebraska Attorney General’s Office.

The vacancy on the court is because of the death of Judge John Wright, who died in March after a long fight with cancer. He served 24 years on the Supreme Court.

The vacancy on the court is in the Sixth Judicial District, based in Lincoln.