Three State Football Championships to be Decided Today in Lincoln

For the next two days, Lincoln’s Memorial Stadium will be host to 6 state football championship games.  Champions will be crowned in Classes D1, D2, and Class B today.  The first championship today will be played this morning to decide the D1 championship.  The Burwell Longhorns will be making their 4th state championship game appearance in the last 5 years.  Burwell was D1 champion in 2016 and finished runner-up in 2015 and last year when they fell to Creighton in the championship game 32-30. Today Burwell will be going for another title when they meet Osceola High Plains, who will be making their first ever state championship game appearance.  The game is scheduled to kickoff at 10:15 AM.

Game two today will take place this afternoon and feature Pleasanton against Humphrey St. Francis for the D2 championship.  Pleasanton is making its first NSAA state championship game appearance.  The Bulldogs are 10-2 this season with playoff wins over Brady, Kenesaw, Twin Loup and Overton.  Pleasanton will face Humphrey St. Francis who will be appearing in its 9th NSAA championship game.  Today’s game is scheduled to kickoff at 2:45 PM.

The final championship game of the day will take place tonight in Class B.  It will be a rematch of last year’s championship game between Scottsbluff and Omaha Skutt.  Skutt won last year’s game 48-27.  Scottsbluff will be seeking its first state title while Skutt goes for its 5th.  Tonight’s game is scheduled to kickoff at 7:15.