Jim Scott to be Inducted into the Nebraska 8 Man Football Hall of Fame

Two coaches, fourteen players, and two contributors will be inducted into the Nebraska Eight-Man Football Hall of Fame this summer. The hall of fame is in its second year of existence and is presented by the Nebraska Eight-Man Football Coaches Association and is sponsored by Pinnacle Bank of Nebraska.

Among this year’s recipients is Jim Scott. Scott is a 1988 graduate of Ansley high school and currently serves as Branch President for Bruning State Bank in Broken Bow. Scott was a football standout for the Ansley Warriors and went on to play college football for the University of Nebraska where he was the starting center from 1991-1992.

This year’s hall of fame class will be inducted during ceremonies to be held Saturday, June 16 at the Tom Osborne Family Sports Complex in Hastings and will be recognized at halftime of the 41st annual Sertoma Eight-Man All-Star Game played at Hastings College.

Here is the full list of this year’s Hall of Fame Class.
Members of the Class of 2018 include: Players- Nolan Beyer (Sidney St. Patrick), Terry Connealy (Hyannis), Brent Gatzemeyer (Bancroft-Rosalie), Scott Gray (Coleridge), Craig Hass (Beemer), La Vane Johnson (Eagle), Ken Mehlin (Humboldt), Lynn Menke (Marquette), Randy Rasmussen (Elba), Jim Scott (Ansley), Dean Steinkuler (Sterling), and Dale Van Housen (Polk-Hordville). Coach- Ron Peck (Beemer), Family Legacy- Coach Bill Mimick (Monroe/ Lynch/Spencer-Naper/Newman Grove/Humphrey-Lindsay Holy Family), and sons Jeff and Tom Mimick (Spencer-Naper), Contributors- Bobby Mills (Historian), and Russ Batenhorst (All-Star Game Announcer).

Central Nebraska’s Sports Source visited with Jim Scott about this special honor. Listen to what he had to say by clicking on the audio clip posted below.