6-Man Football Championship Will be Under the NSAA Umbrella for First Time Since 1998

When the Nebraska 6-man football championship is decided Friday, the winner will walk away with the Nebraska School Activities Association Class D6 championship trophy. It will mark the first time since 1998 that 6 man football has been sponsored by the NSAA. The last 6 man championship game under the NSAA umbrella was won by Milligan as they defeated Benedict 35-28 20 years ago to win the Class D3 title. Six man football competition continued in Nebraska after 1998 and thanks to organizations like the Nebraska Six Man Coaches Association, champions continued to be recognized but this year six man football is back under the NSAA umbrella again. A pair of unbeatens will battle one another for the 6 man crown tomorrow. Top seed Hay Springs has rolled through the playoffs with wins over Red Cloud, Spalding Academy, and Minatare. They will meet the #2 seed Wilcox-Hildreth whose path through the playoffs includes wins over Creek Valley, McCool Junction, and Harvard. Friday’s championship game will be played on Foster Field at Cope Stadium on the campus of the University of Nebraska at Kearney. Kickoff for the game is scheduled for 7pm.