Winter weather advisory in effect until noon Monday February 15

SIGNIFICANT SNOW AND VERY COLD WEATHER TO AFFECT WESTERN AND NORTH CENTRAL NEBRASKA THROUGH MONDAY

Snow and an extended period of dangerously cold conditions will affect much of western and north central Nebraska into early next week. High temperatures will remain in the single digits the next couple days, then struggle to even reach zero across the Sandhills over the weekend. Low temperatures will approach record levels, while wind chill values will routinely drop lower than 20 below zero. Snow totals of 3 to 7 inches are expected throughout the region by Monday morning.

COUNTIES INCLUDED: Sheridan-Eastern Cherry-Brown-Rock-Garden-Grant-Hooker-Thomas- Blaine-Loup-Garfield-Arthur-McPherson-Logan-Custer-Keith-Lincoln- Western Cherry

* WHAT…2 to 4 inches of snow Friday and Friday night with additional light snow Saturday night and Sunday leading to total snow accumulations of 4 to 7 inches.

* WHERE…Portions of central, north central, panhandle, southwest and west central Nebraska.

* WHEN…From 6 AM CST /5 AM MST/ this morning to noon CST /11 AM MST/ Monday.

* IMPACTS…Travel could be very difficult. The hazardous conditions could impact the morning or evening commute. The dangerously cold wind chills as low as 35 below zero could cause frostbite on exposed skin in as little as 10 minutes.

* ADDITIONAL DETAILS…Very cold wind chills are expected with readings as low as 20 to 25 below zero Thursday and Friday. Wind chill values of 30 below zero or colder are possible Saturday, Sunday and Monday mornings.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS… Slow down and use caution while traveling. Wear appropriate clothing, a hat, and gloves.

Call Nebraska 511 for the latest road information.

Share:
Comments