Car seats save lives, but only when they are installed correctly in vehicles. According to safekids.org, more than half of car seats are not used or installed correctly. Road injuries are the leading cause of preventable deaths and injuries to children in the United States, but correctly used child safety seats can reduce the risk of death by as much as 71%.
Here are some car seat safety tips to help protect your most precious cargo:
- Buying the right car seat. Your baby needs to ride in a rear-facing car seat as long as possible until 2 or more years. When your child has outgrown that seat, you are ready for a forward-facing car seat.
- Installing your car seat. You’ll need to decide on using either the seat belt or lower anchors to secure your car seat. Both are safe, but don’t use them both at the same time. Once your child is forward facing, it is important to use the tether with the seat belt or lower anchors.
- Getting the right fit. A properly-fitted harness gives the best possible protection for your child.
- When to change your car seat. Look on the car seat label to make sure your child is still within the weight, height and age limits for that seat.
Loup Basin Public Health Department has a certified Child Passenger Safety Technician to inspect your children’s car seats. Call LBPHD in Burwell at (308) 346-5795 to schedule an appointment to have your seat inspected. Find out more information on selecting the right car seat, when to change the car seat, and more at safekids.org.
Nebraska Passenger Safety Laws (according to safekids.org)
When is a child restraint required?
- Under 2 years old in rear-facing infant seat
- Under 8 years old in child safety seat and in rear seat
When must a child sit in the rear seat?
- Children 7 and younger must be in rear seat
What is the maximum fine for a first car seat violation?
Nebraska Seat Belt Laws (according to safekids.org)
When can a child start using a seat belt?
- 8-17 years
Who is covered by the seatbelt law?
- Riders 18 and over
In what seats does the seatbelt law apply?
- Front only
What is the maximum find for a first seatbelt violation?