Annual tractor, ATV, and UTV safety courses start next week across Nebraska

Annual tractor, ATV, and UTV safety courses start next week across Nebraska
Photo: UNMC Newsroom

Annual tractor, ATV, and UTV safety training course days are coming up soon at six sites across Nebraska, including Broken Bow, in late May and early June. Nebraska Extension and Central States Center for Agricultural Safety and Health at UNMC College of Public Health spearhead the events.

Students can choose to complete the first day of the course by attending a hands-on event at one of two locations or online through the eXtension Foundation Campus website. Hands-on events will take place May 24th in North Platte and May 26th in Grand Island.

The required driving test will be next for students, to be offered at six locations across Nebraska May 25 through June 10. This driving training and exam will include a driving test as well as equipment operation and ATV safety lessons. Students will be hitching and unhitching equipment and will be driving a tractor and trailer through a standardized course. Instructors will also give education about safe behaviors and laws for ATVs, UTVs, and other off-road vehicles.

Teens who are 14 or 15 years of age who work on farms or others who are interested in learning about safe farming practices are encouraged to register. Those under 14 are not eligible for certification but the hands-on events are open to everyone in the community.

Susan Harris, University of Nebraska Extension Educator, reports that a common cause of agricultural-related injuries and deaths in Nebraska is overturned tractors and ATVs. She emphasized that this course is designed to train students how to avoid these incidents as well as many other hazards on the farm and ranch. The hands-on event and the online course will cover the required elements of the National Safe Tractor and Machinery Operation Program, including quizzes which students must pass to attend the driving portion of training. Once a student is registered, they will be sent instructions, materials, course paperwork and a link to the online course if they will not be attending one of the two hands-on events.

Instructors for the course are members of the Central States Center for Agricultural Safety and Health: Aaron Yoder, Ellen Duysen and Risto Rautiainen; and Nebraska Extension educators Randy Saner, Ron Seymour, and John Thomas.

The cost of the course is $25 and includes educational materials, the online learning link (if applicable), and supplies. Payment will be made at the time of the driving exam. Only checks and cash can be accepted.

Hands-on training, driving dates, site locations, and site coordinator contact information is below:

Hands-On Safety Days:

May 24 – Lincoln County Extension Office, 348 West State Farm Rd, North Platte
Contacts: Randy Saner randy.saner@unl.edu and Vicki Neidhardt 308.532.2683, vicki.neidhardt@unl.edu

May 26 – Raising Nebraska, 501 East Fonner Park Rd, Grand Island
Contact: Sarah Polak, 308.385.3967, spolak2@unl.edu

Tractor Driving Days:

May 25 – Lincoln County Extension Office, 348 West State Farm Rd, North Platte
Contacts: Randy Saner randy.saner@unl.edu and Vicki Neidhardt 308.532.2683, vicki.neidhardt@unl.edu

June 6 – AKRS Equipment, 49110 US Hwy 20 in O’Neill
Contact: Debra Walnofer, 402.336.2760, dwalnofer2@unl.edu

June 7 – Legacy of the Plains Museum, 2930 Old Oregon Trail #8500 in Gering
Contact: Stacy Brown, 308.632.1480, sbrown7@unl.edu

June 8 – AKRS Equipment, 44098 Hwy 2, Broken Bow
Contact: Denise Daake, 308.872.6831, denise.daake@unl.edu

June 9 – Adams County Extension, 2975 South Baltimore Ave, Hastings
Contact: Ron Seymour ron.seymour@unl.edu and Twila Bankson 402-461-7209, twila.bankson@unl.edu

June 10 – Cass County Fairgrounds, 8400 144th St, Weeping Water
Contact: Sandy Prall, 402.267.2205, sprall2@unl.edu

If you have questions, please contact the administrator listed above at your driving site, or contact Ellen Duysen ellen.duysen@unmc.edu.

To register visit https://cvent.me/44ExVl

Share: