Three More State Champions Crowned as the Nebraska High School Football Season Officially Comes to a Close

The Nebraska high school football season officially came to a close on Tuesday.  Three champions were crowned at Lincoln’s Memorial Stadium Tuesday.  Columbus Lakeview claimed the Class C1 championship winning over defending champion Pierce.  Lakeview built a 24-6 lead at halftime but had to hang on in the second half to secure the win.  Pierce fought back to within 31-25 in the 4th quarter but Columbus Lakeview would score to go up 37-25 which would be the final score.  It was Lakeview’s second ever trip to the championship game and their first state football title.

Archbishop Bergan of Fremont claimed the Class C2 championship winning over Norfolk Catholic 49-20.  Bergan fumbled on their opening drive of the game which Norfolk Catholic took advantage of and scored to go up 7-0.  Bergan would then score a touchdown on their next five possessions of the first half to lead 35-14 at halftime.  Bergan would hold off Norfolk Catholic in the 2nd half and collect their 2nd state title in school history.  Bergan was led by quarterback Koa McIntyre who was 9 of 11 through the air for 259 yards and 5 TD’s.

The final championship of the day and season was claimed by Gretna as they edged Omaha Westside 7-3 in the Class A championship game.  Westside kicker Tristan Alvano connected on a 26 yard field goal attempt in the second quarter to put Westside up 3-0 at the half.  The score stayed that way until Gretna quarterback Zane Flores scored on a 1 yard touchdown run to put Gretna in front 7-3 with 6:55 remaining in the game.  That touchdown would be enough as Gretna claimed its first state football title.