SWC All Conference Basketball Selections Announced

The Southwest Conference has released its all conference basketball selections for the 2021/22 season.  Broken Bow’s Kya and Kailyn Scott were both named to the all SWC girls first team.  The Sott twins helped lead Broken Bow to a 22-5 overall record and a second straight appearance at the girls state basketball tournament.  Each averaged 10 points per game this season.  Kya led the team in rebounds averaging 6.2 per game and Kailyn led the team in steals (3.1 ppg) and assists (2.6 ppg).  Joining them on the first team were Ellarey Harm and Kynlee Strauser of Gothenburg and Kendyll Delimont of Ainsworth.  This year’s SWC girls coach of the year was Kassie Schuett of Gothenburg as the Lady Swedes completed the season with a fourth place finish at the girls state tournament.

Keegan Baxter of Broken Bow was named to the all SWC boys second team.  Baxter led Broken Bow in scoring this season and set a school record for most points scored in a game with 37 against Valentine on January 21. This year’s SWC boys coach of the year was Andy Gillen of Ogallala.

2021/22 SWC all conference basketball teams

First Team
Kya Scott – Broken Bow
Kendyl Dellimont – Ainsworth
Kailyn Scott – Broken Bow
Ellarey Harm – Gothenburg
Kynlee Strauser – Gothenburg

Second Team
Gabby Caskey – Ogallala
Sloane Branham Beck – Minden
Kaitlyn Nelson – Ainsworth
Shawna Wilkinson – McCook
Peyton Doucet – McCook

Third Team
Kailee Kellum – Valentine
Kinsie Land – Minden
Bria Delimont – Ainsworth
Megan Dyer – Cozad
Ashlyn Richeson – Gothenburg

First Team
Jeron Gager – Ogallala
Evan Humphrey – McCook
Carter Nelson – Ainsworth
Jacob Weatherly – Cozad
Adam Dugger – McCook

Second Team
Caden Bradley – Minden
Corbin Murphy – Ogallala
Carter Harsin – Minden
Wes Geiken – Gothenburg
Keegan Baxter – Broken Bow

Third Team
Race McClure – Ogallala
Traegan McNally – Ainsworth
Ian Shaw – Ogallala
Nolan Wetovick – Cozad
Cole Cappel – McCook