State Champions Crowned at 2021 NSAA State Volleyball Championships

The 2021 Nebraska high school volleyball season came to a close with championship Saturday at the NSAA state volleyball tournament. Champions were crowned in six classes. The day started with Falls City Sacred Heart claiming the Class D2 championship over Humphrey St. Francis. The match went all five sets with Sacred Heart winning 15-9 in the fifth. Erison Vonderschmidt led the way for the Lady Irish with 27 kills. It is Sacred Heart’s third state championship and first since 2006. The Class D2 third place consolation match was won by Maywood Hayes Center claiming a straight sets win over Wynot.

Howells-Dodge won the Class D1 title. The Jaguars defeated Archbishop Bergan 3-1 (18-25, 25-14, 26-24, 25-21). Howells-Dodge was led by Grace and Ellie Baumert as each finished with 23 kills. It is the first state championship for the Howells-Dodge coop. Nebraska Christian won the third place consolation match over Elmwood Murdock 3-1 (25-22, 23-25, 25-19, 25-23).

The Class C2 championship was won by top seed Oakland Craig. Oakland Craig won in straight sets over Sutton (25-21, 25-20, 27-25). Oakland Craig’s Bailey Helzer led all players with 22 kills. Oakland Craig was making just its third appearance at the state tournament and claims its first state volleyball championship. The C2 third place consolation match was won by Wisner Pilger in straight sets over Superior (25-17, 25-15, 25-23).

Lincoln Lutheran claimed its third state title winning over Kearney Catholic in the Class C1 championship 3-1 (25-23, 25-23, 17-25, 26-24). Lutheran was led by Abby Wachal who had a match high 32 kills. Ashley Keck was the top attacker for Kearney Catholic finishing with 20 kills. The C1 third place consolation match was won by Columbus Lakeview in straight sets over GICC (25-15, 25-17, 25-11)

Omaha Skutt set a state record by becoming the first school in tournament history to win 7 straight championships winning the Class B title 3-1 over Norris (25-17, 23-25, 25-11, 25-15). Papillion La Vista South won its 5th Class A title by winning in straight sets over Millard West (25-15, 25-14, 25-14)