Area Athletes to Compete in 8 Man All Star Game – Dent to be Inducted into 8 Man HOF

The 45th annual Sertoma 8 man football all star game will take place this Saturday, June 18 in Hastings kicking off at 6 p.m.  A handful of area athletes have been chosen to compete at this summer’s all star classic.  Suiting up for the West team at this year’s game will be Cooper Slingsby (Ansley/Litchfield), Carter Johnson (Anselmo-Merna), Reece Zutavern (Sandhills/Thedford), as well as Caleb Busch and Carter Mann (Burwell).  The west team will be coached by Sandhills/Thedford head coach Josh Deines along with Andy Seaman of Brady, Dustin Kronhofman of Arapahoe, and Kolby Hamilton of Maywood Hayes Center.

Also on June 18th, 14 new members will be inducted into the Nebraska Eight Man Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame.  Among those to be inducted this year is Mullen graduate Steven Dent.  Dent had a standout football career for Mullen in the early 2000’s.  Dent holds several Class D2 state football playoff records when he helped lead Mullen to the state championship in 2003.  The NSAA shows Dent holding these state playoff records in Class D2.  Most rushing yards in the playoffs (1.233), most touchdowns (22), and most points scored (156).