class="post-template-default single single-post postid-2124335 single-format-standard tribe-no-js page-template-flood wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.9.0 vc_responsive"


Area Athletes to Compete at West Nebraska All Star Games

The annual West Nebraska All Star volleyball and football games will take place on June 11th in Scottsbluff. The 38th annual volleyball match will take place on the campus of Western Nebraska Community College at the Cougar Palace at 2 p.m. (MDT). Several athletes from the KCNI/KBBN coverage area are scheduled to compete in the all star showcase. Listed on the East team roster are Carli Bailey of Ansley/Litchfield, Jaide Chandler of Anselmo-Merna, Faith Hernandez of SEM, Carly Jensen and Kaileigh Gilligan of Gothenburg, as well as Kailyn and Kya Scott of Broken Bow. Alli Loughran of Mullen is among the West team all stars. The east team will be coached by Samantha Hammond of Lexington (HC) and Jeri Graf of Ainsworth (Asst.). The west team will be coached by April Lambert of Chase County (HC) and Leslie Floral of Scottsbluff (Asst.)

The 44th annual all star football game will kick off at 7 p.m. (MDT). This year’s football showcase will have a very strong area presence. Head coach of the East team is Broken Bow head coach Carlie Wells who will be assisted by Ryan Wetovick (Broken Bow asst. coach), Mat Jagelar (South Loup head coach), and Kurt Kulhanek (Ansley/Litchfield head coach). Coach Wells visited with Central Nebraska’s Sports Source about the opportunity to coach in this year’s event. Wells talked about the process of putting the roster together.


Wells said he is looking forward to working with the players as they prepare for the game and is excited about getting to coach a group of his own players one last time.  Representing Broken Bow in this year’s game will be Keifer Anderson, Sawyer Bumgarner, Austin Harvey, Tyler Thomas, and Cyrus Wells .  Others from the KCNI/KBBN coverage area listed on the East team roster include: Cass McGinn, Garrett Porter, and Bryce Schmidt of Anselmo-Merna ; Jake Halstead of South Loup ; Cooper Slingsby of Ansley/Litchfield ; Trae Hickman of Sandhills/Thedford ; Nolan Wetovick, Jade Stull, Jacob Weatherly and Nathan Engel of Cozad ; Bronson Long, and Maddox Rickertson of Gothenburg.

Adam Wiens of Mullen is among the players on the West team roster which will be coached by Brent Bauer of Ogallala.


Full rosters for the West Nebraska volleyball and football all star games (rosters are subject to change)

2022 West Nebraska All Star Football Game Roster

West All Stars

Justus Alcorn (Chadron), Jared Anton (Potter Dix), Ryan Bernhardt (Chase County), Ryan Bickel (Chadron), Cameron Bush (Ogallala), Dillon Christiansen (Garden County), Hunter Cook (Sutherland), Logan Daringer (Gordon-Rushville), Logan DeCoste (Hay Springs), Michael DeVries (Ogallala), Dawson Dunbar (Chadron), Gavin Dunkel (Morrill), Hayden Foster (Perkins County), Scout Gamble (Leyton), Tyler Garrett (Gering), Joseph Gomez (Minatare), Kyren Graves (Ogallala), Cody Hall (Chadron), Jake Hiltibrand (Ogallala), Triston Hite (Perkins County), Isaiah Martinez (Alliance), Ashton Meyer (Perkins County), Thomas Muldoon (Potter Dix), Jackson Ostdiek (Scottsbluff), Victor Palomo (Mitchell), Andon Pittman (Morrill), Sam Rocheleau (Gering), Ben Sauer (Bayard), Trevor Schwartz (Scottsbluff), Tyrone Shanks (Scottsbluff), Morel Torres (Chase County), Adam Wiens (Mullen)

Coaches: Brent Bauer (Ogallala), Tanner Collins (Perkins Co), Dale Frerichs (Potter Dix), Keegan Hoppens (Ogallala)

East All Stars

Keifer Anderson (Broken Bow), Trace Anderson (Holdrege), Sawyer Bumgarner (Broken Bow), Nathan Engel (Cozad), Kolton Hager (Wallace), Jake Halstead (Arnold), Austin Harvey (Broken Bow), Trae Hickman (Thedford), Ryan Kaminski (North Platte), Levi Kerner (Arapahoe), Sebastian Kramer (Medicine Valley), Lane Lenz (Medicine Valley), Bronson Long (Gothenburg), Cass McGinn (Anselmo-Merna), Kade Mohr (North Platte), Garrett Porter (Anselmo-Merna), Cooper Ray (Hi-Lane), Carsen Reiners (Elwood), Maddox Rickertsen (Gothenburg), Wyatt Ryan (Overton), Bryce Schmidt (Anselmo-Merna), Cooper Slingsby (Ansley), Hunter Stewart (Lexington), Jade Stull (Cozad), Tyler Thomas (Broken Bow), Caleb Tonkinson (North Platte), Fredy Vargas-Guido (Lexington), Jacob Weatherly (Cozad), Cyrus Wells (Broken Bow), Nolan Wetovick (Cozad), Gabe White (Arapahoe), Tristian White (Arapahoe)

Coaches: Carlie Wells (Broken Bow), Mat Jageler (Arnold), Kurt Kuhlhanek (Ansley), Ryan Wetovick (Broken Bow)

2022 West Nebraska All Star Volleyball Game Roster

West All Stars

Tatum Bailey (Chadron), Macey Bosard (Mitchell), Amauri Browning (Alliance), Gabby Caskey (Ogallala), Chloe Dillan (Chase County), Jacey Garrett (Chadron), Cortney Holt (Leyton), Alli Loughran (Mullen), Elizabeth Mayer (Hemingford), Jerzee Milner (Chase County), Trinity Penn (Mitchell), Avah Steggall (Alliance), Gracen Tuttle (Ogallala)

Coaches: April Lambert (Chase County), Leslie Foral (Scottsbluff)

East All Stars

Carli Bailey (Ansley), Jaide Chandler (Anselmo-Merna), Kaileigh Gilligan (Gothenburg), Faith Hernandez (Sumner-Eddyville-Miller), Carly Jensen (Gothenburg), Kaitlyn Nelson (Ainsworth), Lindsey Rippen (Hitchcock County), Kaylyn Roblee (Medicine Valley), Alexa Sandman (Wauneta-Palisade), Kailyn Scott (Broken Bow), Kya Scott (Broken Bow), Carlee Stuhmer (Alma), Taylor Woehrle (Elwood)

Coaches: Samantha Hammond (Lexington), Jeri Graff (Ainsworth)