Supervisors, Assessor, Callaway Hospital, Sargent Mayor To Appear On Local Primary Ballots

A number of offices will have a primary election on May 10 following the non-incumbent filing deadline on March 1. Outside of Custer County offices, incumbents Mark Kimball and Mary Ross will appear on the primary ballot for the Callaway District Hospital. Incumbent Micheal Kozeal, Clint Marsh, and Melanie Myers will all be on the primary ballot for the Mayor of Sargent.

The Custer County Assessor seat will be challenged as Elise Taylor and incumbent Lana Lymber have filed for the position.

The Custer County Board of Supervisors have four seats up for re-election in 2022, but only two of those seats will go a primary vote. In District 1, incumbent Bobby Myers will be challenged by Greg Kissell, Carl French, and Anne Gibbons. District 7 will also have a primary election with incumbent Doug Stunkel and Sara Parliament competing to move on to the general election in November. Donna Hoblyn-Bittner has also filed to run for the District 7 seat, but as the only democratic nominee, no primary is needed.

The statewide election filings are available at the bottom of this article.

As of 3/2/2022: Custer County filings are as follows (Incumbents are in BOLD, primary elections are underlined):

Custer County

  • District 1- Bobby Myers, Greg Kissell, Carl French, and Anne Gibbons
  • District 3- Barry Fox
  • District 5- Charles Blowers
  • District 7- Doug Stunkel, Sara Parliament, Donna Hoblyn-Bittner

Custer County Assessor: Lana Lymber, Elise Taylor

Custer County Attorney: Steve Bowers

Custer County Clerk: Connie Gracey

Custer County Sheriff: Dan Osmond

Custer County Treasurer: Sheri Bryant

Clerk of the Custer County District Court: Amy Oxford

Register of Deeds: Christie Trumbull

Townships (Incumbents for townships, villages, & public power districts under $40 million have until July 15th, and non-incumbents have until August 1st to file)

  • Cliff- Larry Leibhart, Brian Bartak, Mark Schmidt
  • Douglas Grove- Clyde Thompson
  • Kilfoil- Evan Bartak, Don Cantrell, Mickey Solomon, Clifford Burnett
  • Wayne- Joshua Cool

City Of Broken Bow

  • Mayor- Rod Sonnichsen
  • East Ward-David Schmidt, Lawrence Stump

City of Sargent

  • Mayor- Micheal Kozeal, Clint Marsh, Melanie Myers
  • City Council- Michelle Schneider, Ricky Hightower, Greg Brass
  • Sargent Airport- Tom Kleeb

School Boards

  • Anselmo-Merna #15
    • Tom Griffith
    • Kristy Bartak
    • Jacob Parsons
    • Craig Safranek
    • Rodney Lamb
    • MindieDruery
  • Ansley #44
    • Danielle Ostrand
    • Derek Clay
    • Christopher Varney
  • Arnold #89
    • Merle Bierman
    • Joseph Cool
    • Jennifer Dalrymple
  • Broken Bow #25
    • Pam Holcomb
    • Tom Osmond
    • Tim Chancellor
    • Amy Tharp
  • Callaway #180
    • TR Anderson
    • Vincent Guthrie
    • Liana Hrupek
  • Sargent #84
    • Martin Riddle
    • Loyd Pointer
    • Rolland Stefka

Callaway Dist. Hospital

  • Mark Kimball, Mary Ross




Incumbents for townships, villages, & public power districts under $40 million have until July 15th, and non-incumbents have until August 1st to file. In addition, candidates who would like to file as a write-in candidate, are required to file an affidavit in order for the votes to be counted. If anyone has any questions, please contact the Custer County Clerk’s Office (308) 872-5701.