Sargent’s Olson to Represent Nebraska in National “Make It With Wool” Contest

Sargent’s Olson to Represent Nebraska in National “Make It With Wool” Contest
Sargent's Emma Olson, second from left, was the Junior Division "Make It With Wool" Contest winner. To her left is Preteen Division winner Maya Soria of Kearney; to her right are Senior Division winner Saidi Ringenberg, Lexington, and Adult Division winner Delores Brennemann.

Emma Olson of Sargent will be Nebraska’s Junior Division delegate to the National Finals of the “Make It With Wool” Contest. Saidi Ringenberg of Lexington will represent the Senior Division. They were chosen November 19 by judges at the state contest conducted by “Make It With Wool” State Director, Andrea Nisley of Lexington. Contestants participated in the state contest at the Trinity Lutheran Church in Lexington.

The National Make It With Wool Contest scheduled for January 19-21, 2023 is in Fort Worth, Texas.

Second place in the Junior Division was Karla Herrarte, Lexington who received a Bernina sewing machine. Other contestants earning honors were third place winner Sydni Ringenberg, Lexington; fourth place winner Nevaeh Sauer, Lexington; fifth place winner Katie Olson, Sargent; and sixth place winner Grace Brennemann, Curtis. Other junior participants were Ella Anderson, Mitchell; Ella Brennemann, Curtis; Jaden Hunke, Lexington; Kourtney Keller, Sidney; Greta Rickertsen, Lexington; Alison Schimmer, Grand Island; and Dakota Vrbas, Kimball.

Dawson County’s participants in the 2022 State Make It With Wool Contest were (front row, left to right) Millie Pepplitsch, Melissa Montano, Bristol McConville, Maya Soria, Makennah Sauer, (middle row, left to right) Alex Rickertsen, Benjamin Dones, Wesley Thompson, Lorelai Rickertsen, Jaden Hunke, (back row, left to right) Nevaeh Sauer, Karla Herrarte, Saidi Ringenberg, Sydni Ringenberg, Abbie Owens, Ariel Rhea, Greta Rickertsen, and Leah Sauer. Not pictured is Josue Casanova and Mollie Spradlin. The contest was November 19 at the Trinity Lutheran Church in Lexington and conducted by Andrea Nisley, State MIWW Director. (Photo courtesy of Andrea Nisley)

In the Preteen Division, the first-place winner was Maya Soria, Kearney who received a sewing basket with sewing notions. Second place winner was Millie Pepplitsch, Lexington; third place, Melissa Montano, Kearney; fourth place, Bristol McConville, Lexington; fifth place, Lorelai Rickertsen, Lexington; sixth place, Vanessa Peterson, Lincoln; seventh place, Wesley Thompson, Lexington; eighth place, Benjamin Dones, Lexington; and ninth place, Silas Andrews, Page. Other preteen contestants were Lila Brennemann, Hyannis; Josue Casanova, Lexington; Brooklyn Creech, Mitchell; Hunter Creech, Mitchell; Julia Nicholson, Chadron; Haidyn Rapp, Ogallala; Alex Rickertsen, Lexington; Leah Sauer, Lexington; Makennah Sauer, Lexington; and Mollie Spradlin, Cozad.

First place in the Senior Division was Saidi Ringenberg, Lexington. Second place in the Senior Division was Abbie Owens, Lexington who received a Elna sewing machine; third place, Ariel Rhea, Lexington; and fourth place, Abigail Olson, Sargent.