Non-Incumbent Filing Deadline March 1; Supervisor Olson Will Not Seek Additional Term

The filing deadline has passed for incumbents for the 2022 elections. For non-incumbents, the filing deadline is approaching on March 1 at 5 PM.

Election Commissioner Connie Gracey stated anyone who wishes to file for a position can do so by going to the Custer County Clerk’s Office at the Custer County Courthouse and filling out a form. Anyone wishing to file for a position must be a registered voter in Custer County which can be completed at the same time of filing if necessary. Filing fees are only collected if someone is wishing to run for a county elected position. Filing fees for those positions are 1% of the elected official’s salary that was set in November.

Election filings began on January 5 in Nebraska with incumbent candidates required to file by February 15. Nebraska’s primary election will be held on May 10. Nearly all elected positions have had incumbents refile for the position, however, Custer County Supervisor Don Olson chose not to re-run this year in District 5.

Below are the elected positions that have had an incumbent refile. This list does NOT include non-incumbents. A complete list of individuals seeking election will become available following the March 1 non-incumbent filing deadline.

Custer County

  • District 1- Bobby Myers
  • District 3- Barry Fox
  • District 7- Doug Stunkel

Custer County Assessor: Lana Lymber

Custer County Attorney: Steve Bowers

Custer County Clerk: Connie Gracey

Custer County Sheriff: Dan Osmond

Custer County Treasurer: Sheri Bryant

Clerk of the Custer County District Court: Amy Oxford

Register of Deeds: Christie Trumbull


  • Cliff- Larry Leibhart, Brian Bartak, Mark Schmidt
  • Kilfoil- Mickey Solomon

City Of Broken Bow

  • Mayor- Rod Sonnichsen
  • East Ward-David Schmidt

City of Sargent

  • Mayor- Mick Kozeal
  • City Council- Michelle Schneider, Ricky Hightower
  • Sargent Airport- Tom Kleeb

School Boards

  • Ansley #44
    • Danielle Ostrand
    • Derek Clay
  • Arnold #89
    • Merle Bierman
    • Joseph Cool
  • Broken Bow #25
    • Pam Holcomb
    • Tom Osmond
    • Tim Chancellor
  • Callaway #180
    • TR Anderson
    • Liana Hrupek
  • Sargent #84
    • Loyd Pointer
    • Rolland Stefka

Callaway Dist. Hospital

  • Mark Kimball
  • Mary Ross