Arnold, Callaway, Stapleton Qualify For State Play Production Championships

The 2021 NSAA Play Production Districts have concluded and three schools in the KCNI/KBBN coverage area have qualified for the NSAA State Play Production Championships at the Johnny Carson Theatre in Norfolk beginning on Wednesday, December 8.

The championship performances for Classes D1 and D2 will be held Wednesday, December 8; Classes C1 and C2 will be held Thursday, December 9; and Classes A and B will be held Friday, December 10.

The Arnold Play Production team will return to Norfolk to defend their state title in Class D2 after they took the top spot in the D2-5 District at North Platte High School. Arnold performed “The Diviners” and earned a score of 178. Arnold will perform at 5:15 PM on Wednesday, December 8. According to the NSAA, Arnold has qualified for the state championships ten times. Last year’s championship performance was the first play production state title in school history. Arnold also finished runner-up in 2001 and 2019.

Callaway’s Play Production team will return to Norfolk for the 18th time after finishing first at the D1-5 District in Holdrege. Earning first-place votes from all three judges, Callaway will perform “We Are The Sea” on Wednesday, December 8 at 12:15 PM. According to the NSAA, Callaway has qualified for the NSAA State Championships four times in the last five years. In their most recent appearance, Callaway finished runner-up behind Paxton in 2019 and is still looking for the school’s first play production state title.

Stapleton’s Play Production Team will be back at the Johnny Carson Theatre to try and improve over last year’s runner-up finish to Pawnee City. Stapleton’s performance of “Dinner and a Swashbuckling” was one point shy of a perfect score at the D1-6 District in North Platte. Stapleton will perform on Wednesday, December 8 at 10 AM.

Other area schools that competed, but did not qualify for the NSAA Play Production Championships:

B-5 District: Cozad “Read Spooky” 3rd Place; Broken Bow “Drift” 7th Place
B-6 District: Gothenburg “Anatomy of Gray” 2nd Place
C2-3 District: Burwell “Double Trouble on the Prairie” 8th Place
C2-4 District: Loup City “I’ll Keep On” 3rd Place
D1-5 District: Anselmo-Merna “Time to Scream” 5th Place; Sargent “Mama Mia! The Secret of the Missing Spoon” 6th Place; Sumner-Eddyville-Miller “The Young and the Senseless: A Tale of Utter Stupidity” 8th Place
D2-3 District: Arcadia “Star Tracks: The Exposition Menance” 3rd Place; Litchfield “Treasure Island” 5th Place
D2-4 District: Thedford “The Blue and The Grey” 3rd Place; Sandhills “Teen and Twenty” 4th Place; Mullen “Fortunes Read $1” 7th Place
D2-5 District: McPherson County “AFTERMATH” 8th Place (JP)
D2-6 District: Ansley “Stone Creek Sorrow” 2nd Place

State Play Production Championship information, including complete district results, state performance schedule, and more are available on the NSAA website (

Tickets must be purchased online through GoFan. Online tickets must be on your phone, either through the app or your email for redemption – NO PRINTED TICKETS ALLOWED.  For fans without mobile devices, a ticket kiosk will be located at the main entrance. This kiosk is debit/credit ONLY – NO CASH!

News Channel Nebraska will live stream the awards ceremonies in all six classes from the Carson Theatre.  News Channel Nebraska will also live stream select productions from the NSAA Play Production Championships.