Nebraska Softball Players Honored by Big Ten Conference

Freshman catcher Ava Bredwell was named the 2022 Big Ten Freshman of the Year on Wednesday, when the conference announced its postseason awards. Bredwell was one of seven Huskers to earn recognition on an All-Big Ten team, tying Northwestern for the most selections in the league. 
Bredwell is the first Husker to receive conference Freshman of the Year honors since Ali Viola was named the 1995 Big Eight Freshman of the Year. Bredwell is only the third catcher to be named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year since the award began in 1985. Bredwell also earned a spot on the All-Freshman Team. 
In addition to Bredwell, Nebraska was well represented on the All-Big Ten first and second teams, in addition to the Big Ten All-Defensive team.
Abbie Squier (outfield) and Cam Ybarra (second base) were both named to the All-Big Ten first team. Earning second-team All-Big Ten honors were Mya Felder (first base), Billie Andrews (shortstop) and Olivia Ferrell (pitcher). This marks the first All-Big Ten honor for Squier, Ybarra, Felder and Ferrell while Andrews earned all-conference accolades for the second straight season. Nebraska’s five All-Big Ten selections marked its most since the 2014 Big Ten champion Husker had six players earn All-Big Ten recognition.
Felder, Ybarra and Squier were also named to the Big Ten All-Defensive team, along with pitcher Courtney Wallace. There were only four Big Ten players who earned a spot on an All-Big Ten team and on the All-Defensive team, and three of those players were from Nebraska (Felder, Ybarra and Squier).With four selections to the All-Defensive team, Nebraska became the first Big Ten team to place four players on the All-Defensive team since the team was created in 2013.
Karlee Seevers rounded out Nebraska’s honorees, as she was announced as the Huskers’ Big Ten Sportsmanship recipient.
After receiving a bye with a second-place regular-season finish, the Huskers are set to play in the quarterfinals of the Big Ten Tournament on Thursday, May 12, at 10 a.m. (CT) against the winner of Wednesday’s game between Penn State and Indiana. The game will be broadcasted live on the Big Ten Network and fans can listen to the action live on the Huskers Radio Network, and select Huskers Radio Network affiliates with the call from Nate Rohr.

2022 Big Ten Softball All-Conference Teams and Individual Awards
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Rachel Lewis, Grad., OF, Northwestern
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Ava Bredwell, C, Nebraska
COACH OF THE YEAR: Kate Drohan, Northwestern
First Team All-Big Ten
Avrey Steiner, Sr., 2B, Illinois
Cora Bassett, Sr., 2B, Indiana
Jaeda McFarland, So., OF, Maryland
Lexie Blair, Sr., 1B, Michigan
Alex Storako, Sr., P, Michigan
Abbie Squier, So., OF, Nebraska
Cam Ybarra, Sr., 2B, Nebraska

Hannah Cady, So., 3B, Northwestern
Nikki Cuchran, Sr., 1B, Northwestern
RACHEL LEWIS, Grad., OF, Northwestern
Jordyn Rudd, Sr., C, Northwestern
DANIELLE WILLIAMS, Sr., P, Northwestern
Niki Carver, Sr., 1B, Ohio State
Bailey Parshall, Sr., P, Penn State
Rachel Becker, Sr., SS, Purdue
Gabrielle Callaway, Grad., OF, Rutgers
Kyleigh Sand, So., SS, Rutgers
Kayla Konwent, Sr., DP, Wisconsin
Second Team All-Big Ten*
Kailee Powell, Sr., 1B, Illinois
Sydney Sickels, Sr., P, Illinois
Taylor Minnick, Fr., OF, Indiana
Megan Mikami, So., OF, Maryland
Hannah Carson, Sr., C, Michigan
Audrey LeClair, Jr. OF, Michigan
Melina Livingston, Grad., 2B, Michigan
Natalie DenHartog, Sr., OF, Minnesota
Chloe Evans, So., OF, Minnesota
Billie Andrews, So., SS, Nebraska
Mya Felder, Jr., 1B, Nebraska
Olivia Ferrell, Sr., P, Nebraska

Maeve Nelson, Sr., SS, Northwestern
Skylar Shellmyer, Sr., OF, Northwestern
Sam Hackenbracht, Jr., DP, Ohio State
Lexie Handley, Sr., P, Ohio State
Cassie Lindmark, Jr., C, Penn State
Fiona Girardot, Jr., 1B, Wisconsin
Ally Miklesh, Sr., OF, Wisconsin
Maddie Schwartz, Sr., P, Wisconsin
* – additional players due to ties
All-Freshman Team
Paige Berkmeyer, UT, Illinois
Stevie Meade, OF, Illinois
Lauren Wiles, P, Illinois
Heather Johnson, P, Indiana
Taylor Minnick, OF, Indiana
Ellie Sieler, OF, Michigan
Emily Leavitt, P, Minnesota
Ava Bredwell, C, Nebraska
Grace Nieto, 2B, Northwestern
Kami Kortokrax, SS, Ohio State
Melina Wilkison, OF, Ohio State

All-Defensive Team
P: Courtney Wallace, Sr., Nebraska
C: Jordyn Rudd, Jr., Northwestern
1B: Mya Felder, Jr., Nebraska
2B: Cam Ybarra, Sr., Nebraska

SS: Makenna Dowell, Grad., Minnesota
3B: Kayla Chavez, Fr., Minnesota
OF: Kristina Burkhardt, Grad., Michigan
OF: Abbie Squier, So., Nebraska
OF: Lilia Crouthamel, Sr., Penn State

Sportsmanship Award Honorees: Lakyn Wagoner, Illinois; Grayson Radcliffe, Indiana; Kate Claypool, Iowa; Megan Mikami, Maryland; Lexi Voss, Michigan; Marissa Trivelpiece, Michigan State; Ali Lindner, Minnesota; Karlee Seevers, Nebraska; Lauren Caldrone, Northwestern; Avery Clark, Ohio State; Claire Swedberg, Penn State; Kaeley Hallada, Purdue; Gabrielle Callaway, Rutgers; Morgan Kummer, Wisconsin.