Red Flag Warning in effect for much of the area

OMAHA Neb. -- A red flag remains in effect for portions of Nebraska through 8:00 p.m. CDT Wednesday.

The affected areas include Valley, Greeley, Nance, Sherman, Howard, Merrick, Dawson, Buffalo, Hall, Hamilton, Gosper, Phelps, Kearney, Adams, Clay, Fillmore, Furnas, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, Nuckolls, Thayer, Saline, Boone, Platte, Butler, Seward, Lancaster, Jefferson, Gage, Polk and York Counties.

With relative humidity as low as 18 percent and wind gusts as high as 35 miles per hour, the National Weather Service says fire risk is elevated across all the affected counties.

Burning is not recommended.