class="post-template-default single single-post postid-2097480 single-format-standard tribe-no-js tribe-bar-is-disabled wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0 vc_responsive"



Oregon Trail Days events wrap-up with fun and competition

GERING, Neb. (KNEP) - The 100th Oregon Trail Days saw another exciting weekend from parades to quilt shows to chili cook offs.

Several events over Oregon Trail Days showcased not only fun and excitement but competitive spirit.

From the Don Childs Run to the Bike Hill Climb to start the mornings.

Two events helped close out Oregon Trail Days mud volleyball and horseshoes.

42 participants paired up to make 21 teams for the annual horseshoe competition. The teams were broken into three

divisions with a champion crowned in each.

While a large number of volleyball players hit the mud pits for the mud volleyball event. Teams were placed in several

categories with winners crowned on the day.

Mud Volleyball Results

Overall Adult Top Three

First-Place Team Members -- Olivia Schaub, Macey Boggs, Elli Winkler, Cody Ferguson, Ashtyn Martin, and Zach Martin.

Second-Place Team Members -- Cody Thompson, Alyssa O’Boyle, Danny O’Boyle, Laura Van Hausen, Joey Rasnic, and Katie Rasnic.

Third-Place Team Members -- Manny Perez, Jared Kembel, Jonathan Van Gilder, Macey Boggs, Shala Van Galder, and Morgan Hernandez

High School Top Two

First-Place Team Members--- Trinity Penn, Jayden Kanno, Cisco Barrios, Marjie Schmitt, Rylan Aguallo, Brett Pszanka

Second-Place Team Members-- Nevaeh Hrasky, Jaleigh Kumm, Garret Hopkins, Karter Winter, Caleb Wilkins, Allee Lohr

Junior High School Top Two

First-Place Team Members: Caiden Voight, Karli Newman, Aria Schneider, Abby Schanaman, Sarah Baltz, Ashlynn Feil

Second-Place Team Members: Ella Strom, Addie Peck, Ava Reed, Campbell Meyer, Alainah Salas, Abby Dunkel

Horseshoe Results

Class A

First Place: Don Mohrmans / Garth Genoways

Second Place: Mike Vergil / Martin

Third Place: Tony Vasquez Sr. / Jenny Ellett

Class B

First Place: Brian Andreas / Adrian Moreno

Second Place: Tony Vasquez Jr. / Josh Shaske

Third Place: Ron Nelson / Kendall Palu

Class C

First Place: Tracy Fulton / Jesse Maldonado

Second Place: Irv Felix / Dean Sterling

Third Place: Josiah / Esteban Avalos