Bacon, Fortenberry support commission on January 6th; Smith votes no

Two of Nebraska's three congressional lawmakers voted in favor of creating an independent bipartisan commission on the January 6th insurrection at the U.S. Capitol.

The bill passed the House 252 to 175 on Wednesday, with 35 Republicans voting with Democrats in support of the commission.

Casting "yes" votes Wednesday were Nebraska Republican Reps. Don Bacon and Jeff Fortenberry. Republican Congressman Adrian Smith voted against the legislation.

Bacon said in a statement that he voted for the proposal in part to find out why security on that day failed.