Teams Announced for 2017 Bill Marshall Volleyball Classic

Teams Announced for 2017 Bill Marshall Volleyball Classic
2017 Bill Marsh Volleyball Classic will take place on Friday, August 24th and Saturday, August 25 at the Heartland Event Center.

GRAND ISLAND – High school volleyball teams from across the state will gather in Grand Island to compete at the Nebraska State Fair.

The 23 high school teams have been announced for the Bill Marshall Volleyball Classic taking place August 25th and 26th. In addition to the prep talent, four collegiate teams from NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) institutions in Nebraska, Missouri, Georgia and Oklahoma will also take part in the competition.

State Fair Events and Entertainment Director Chelsey Jungck is excited they are able to continue the event that honors that late Bill Marshall.

“The classic was the dream of former state fair board member Bill Marshall who we lost in early 2016. While the gears were already in motion, everyone involved doubled down to make his dream a reality. And with the help of the Nebraska School Activities Association and Hastings College heading up the NAIA match ups, we’re set for an exciting couple of days in year two.”

High School matches will be Nebraska High School Sports Hall of Fame Jamboree Games. Every varsity team participating will play a two set match against two different teams. The collegiate teams will play against each other in a best three-out-of-five match.

The event will take place at the Heartland Event Center and will be free to attend with gate admission to the fair.

The complete schedule is available at

The Nebraska State Fair runs from August 25 through September 4, in Grand Island.

Friday, Aug. 25 Teams:

  • Alma High School
  • Aurora High School
  • Centura High School
  • Elkhorn South High School
  • Grand Island Northwest High School
  • Gretna High School
  • Heartland Lutheran High School
  • Lincoln Northeast High School
  • O’Neill High School
  • Sandhills-Thedford High School Co-op
  • St. Paul High School

Saturday, Aug. 26 Teams:

  • Ansley-Litchfield High School
  • Columbus Lakeview High School
  • Diller-Odell High School
  • Elgin Public Pope John High School
  • Elkhorn High School
  • Giltner High School
  • Grand Island Central Catholic High School
  • Grand Island Senior High School
  • Kearney Catholic High School
  • Millard South High School
  • Nebraska Christian High School
  • Sidney High School

College Volleyball Teams:

  • College of Coastal Georgia
  • Columbia College
  • Hastings College
  • Oklahoma City University