Sandhills/Thedford Lands Three Players on the LJS All State Class D2 Football Team

The Lincoln Journal Star has released its all state football selections for the 2021 season.  Sandhills/Thedford had three players named to the all state Class D2 first team.  Dane Pokorny was selected as a first team running back.  Pokorny averaged 8.9 yards per carry this season and finished with 1,313 yards rushing.  Drew McIntosh and Reece Zutavern were both selected as all state first team defense.  McIntosh, a defensive lineman, led S/T in sacks with 11 and had 19 tackles for loss this past season.  Zutavern, an all state linebacker, led the team in total tackles with 110.  Zutavern was also selected as an honorary captain by the publication.

Burwell placed three players on the Class D1 all state first team.   Caleb Busch was selected as an all state running back.  Busch finished with over 2,000 rushing yards for the season.  Joining Busch on the D1 all state offense was offensive lineman Carter Mann.  Cash Gurney was selected to the Class D1 all state defensive team as a defensive back.