Oakland Craig (C2) and Bellevue West (A) Win State Football Titles

The Nebraska high school fall sports season officially came to a close on Tuesday as the high school football season concluded with the final three state football championships decided at Memorial Stadium in Lincoln.  Something rare occurred on Tuesday, all three champions won in a shutout.  After Wahoo shutout Pierce 38-0 in the Class C1 championship to start the day, Oakland-Craig would claim the C2 title by shutting out Sutton 19-0.  Oakland-Craig was led by Jaron Meyer who rushed for 93 yards and a touchdown.  It was Oakland-Craig’s second football championship.  Oakland Craig also claimed the C2 championship back in 1995.

Bellevue West claimed the Class A title Tuesday night by shutting out Omaha Westside 35-0.  Westside was held to just 124 yards of total offense while Bellevue West finished with 406.  The Thunderbirds were led by Jevyon Ducker who ran for a game high 214 yards and 3 touchdowns.  It was Bellevue West’s second championship having also won the Class A title back in 2016.