NWSCA Announce Award Recipients for the 2019-2020 Wrestling Season

The Nebraska Scholastic Wrestling Coaches Association has announced its special award recipients for the 2019-20 season.

Isaac Trumble of Millard South was named the Norm Manstedt wrestler of the year.  Trumble went undefeated the past two seasons and has signed to wrestle for North Carolina State on the college level.

The Guy Mytty outstanding senior wrestler awards for each class went to Trumble (Class A), Grady Griess of Grand Island Northwest (B), Gage Krolikowski of Valentine (C) and Weeping Water’s Marcus Cave (D).

The Vern Ekfelt coach of the year honors went to Nate Olson of Millard South (A), Tyler Legate of Pierce (B), Johnnie Ferrence of Ord (C) and Plainview’s Dean Boyer (D).

Other awards announced included:

Pinnacle Bank Scholarship

  • Class B – Collin Quandt. Northwest
  • Class D – Corey Dawes, Burwell
  • Class C – Robbie Lovejoy, Winnebago

Family of the Year

  • Derry and Kathy Trampe, Ord

Assistant Coach of the Year

  • Matt Bates, David City

Coaches Wife:

  • Linda Maxwell, West Point Beemer

Patron of the Year

  • Kenny Wingender, Omaha Bryan

Media Person of the Year

  • NEwrestle Crew


  • Randy Schroeder, West Holt


Distinguished Service Award:

  • Guy Cope, Omaha (Retiring Official)
  • Randy Kliment, Creighton (Retiring AD / Coach)
  • Dan Mowinkle, Logan View (Retiring Coach)
  • Gary Maresh, Central City (Retiring Coach)

Award winners will be recognized during the NSWCA Hall of Fame banquet on Nov. 21 in Columbus.