NSAA Releases Sub District Assignments for Wrestling

Earlier this year the Nebraska Schools Activities Association announced that, because of COVID-19 concerns, this year’s high school wrestling season will feature sub district tournaments in classes B, C, and D prior to district competition. The sub district tournaments will take place the weekend of February 6th, 2021. Therefore, the NSAA announced that the state dual championship tournament which was scheduled for that weekend will not take place because of the change of format regarding district competition. The change was put into effect in order to reduce the amount of people that would gather for one big district tournament. Each district will now be split in half into two sub districts. The top four wrestlers in each weight class from each sub district will then advance to the district tournament with the opportunity to qualify for the state championships.

Broken Bow moved up from Class C to Class B this year and will compete in the B4-B sub district which will be hosted by Lexington and will also include Cozad, Holdrege, Lexington, McCook, and Sidney.

Arcadia/Loup City will be grouped in the Class C4-A sub with Mitchell serving as the host school and will also include Chase County, Gordon-Rushville, Hershey, O’Neill, Ravenna, and Valentine

Anselmo-Merna and South Loup will be among those competing in the Class D1-A sub with Arapahoe, Cedar Bluffs, Clarkson-Leigh, Friend, Pender, Plainview, Scribner-Snyder, Shelby-Rising City (host), and Weeping Water

Burwell will compete at the D2-A sub district which will take place in Pleasanton. On the other side of the D2 district will be Ansley/Litchfield and Twin Loup. The Spartans and Wolves will compete in the D2-B sub at Doniphan-Trumbull along with Elgin Public/Pope John, Freeman, Palmer, Red Cloud/Blue Hill, Riverside, Southwest, and West Holt.

Sandhills Valley (Stapleton/McPherson County) will be in the D3-A sub at Central Valley while Sandhills/Thedford and SEM will both be on the other side of the district competing at the D3-B sub with Cambridge, Creighton, Harvard, East Butler (host), Hastings St. Cecilia, Howells-Dodge, Johnson County Central, and Neligh-Oakdale.

Mullen will be among the teams competing at the D4-A sub with Bayard, Hemingford, Hyannis, Kimball, Leyton, Maxwell (host), Minatare, Morrill, Paxton, and Wauneta-Palisade.