Lincoln County Raceway Results 8/25

Story by Kelly Ninas

Finishing strong would be an understatement when describing the final night of the 2018 racing
season at Lincoln County Raceway in North Platte, Nebraska. The jam-packed, action stacked event saw
Keith Rauch, Scott Naggatz, Colton Osborn, Tony Schultz, Casey Woken, Jacob Hagan and Andrew
Baumgardner all reach the promised land of the Winners Circle in front of a near-capacity crowd.

The Rocky Mountain Midget Racing Association made their first ever visit to Lincoln County Raceway
and put on an impressive display of speed with Keith Rauch of Thornton, Colorado being the fastest to
the finish line. Rauch grabbed the lead on the fourth lap and never looked back on his way to claiming
the victory after starting the feature event in the fourth row. Attempting to chase down Rauch was Bob
Harr of Arvada, Colorado. Harr was up on the wheel during the waning laps to see his efforts rewarded
with a runner-up finish. Coming up big with the passing points as he sliced and diced through the traffic.
Lance Bennett of Parker, Colorado started the feature in the seventh row and when the checked flag
was flying, he crossed the finish stripe in third place overall. Zach Merritt of Greeley, Colorado was the early leader before Rauch took over the point. Merritt stayed up on the wheel to finish fourth overall, just in front of fifth place finisher Carson Garrett.

Veteran wheelman Scott Naggatz of Carter Lake, Iowa is no stranger to the winners circle and in
North Platte on Saturday evening, which is where Naggatz and his Nebraska Mod Lite finished. Naggatz
started the feature on the inside of the second row and at the drop of the green flag, he was like a
rocketship to the front where he stayed and led every lap of the feature event to claim the win. Trying
his best to keep within striking distance of Naggatz was Brandon Piersol of Grand Island. Peirsol started on the pole of the feature and was always in a podium finishing position throughout the event to showcase his consistency on Saturday. Grand Island’s Steve Moock was able to stay in clean air and out of traffic to the tune of a third place finish after starting the feature on the front row. Doug Pollock of Tekamah and Taylor Pollack of Prague crossed the finish line in fourth and fifth, respectively.

Wasting no time at all to get to the front, Colton Osborn of Cozad got off to a lightning fast start and finished strong to take home top honors in the IMCA Modified feature. Osborn started on the outside of the second row to use the high groove to his advantage to garner the early lead that he never
relinquished. In heavy pursuit of the leader, Colton Osborn during the final laps was Jay Steffens of
North Platte. Steffens was able to drive away from a late race incident that involved Brandon Clough as
well to earn the runner-up accolades. Steffens started on the inside of the third row when the green flag was waved. Making a late charge pay off dearly during the final laps was Rubber Duck Bryan Herrick of Curtis to earn third place honors. Fourth place finisher Dave Pedersen of Brady was the heat race winnerearlier in the evening.

Leading the laps that mattered the most, Tony Schultz claimed the win in the IMCA Northern Sport
Modified Feature after leading the final two laps. Schultz of North Platte was able to work his magic
through traffic with patience to be in position to challenge for the lead. Schultz started on the inside of the fifth row when the feature started. Crossing the finish stripe in second place overall was Cody DeWester of McCook. DeWester was the leading for much of the feature after gaining the point on the second lap. DeWester had the chance of earning the win, as he led until the white flag was waved.

Biding his time and staying out of trouble combined with a little luck for Jacob Wolsleben of Cozad
earned the ‘Big Cat’ a podium finish for his efforts. Wolsleben also started in the fifth row at the
beginning of the feature event. Grabbing the lead with four laps remaining, the Norton Nightmare, Casey Woken of Norton, Kansas was able to hold off any and all challenges down the final stretch to earn the IMCA Stock Car feature win. Woken started the feature event on the inside of the fourth row when the race started with the green flag flying. Weaving through traffic with gumption was Cale Osborn of Cozad as he scored the runner-up finish after starting the feature in the back row. Osborn was able to pressure Woken on the late restarts before Woken was able to hit his stride. Early leader Andrew Dillenburg of North Platte was the early leader as he looked to run away and hide before restarts bunched up the field of racers and allowed Woken the chance to make the pass for the lead on the eleventh lap.

In one of the most competitive features of the night, Jacob Hagan of Kearney was in the lead to
claim the win the IMCA Hobby Stock feature when all the smoke cleared. ON Hagan’s heels was Jeromy
Wagner of Kensington, Kansas, who finished second overall. Early leader Chuck Ledbetter of Loomis was
the leader for the initial seven laps before a bobble in corner two proved costly. Ledbetter recovered
quite nicely to earn third place honors.
Hitting his stride late in the season has been Andrew Baumgardner. Baumgardner of North Platte
was able to weave his way through traffic to win the IMCA Sport Compact feature. Baumgardner started
the feature event on the inside of the third row when the green flag dropped. Darryl Cauffman of North
Platte was the runner-up finisher after starting on the outside of the second row when the feature
started. Lonnie Lenser Jr of Valentine crossed the finish line in third place after working back onto the podium from an early lap incident.

(Unofficial Results)
–RMMRA Feature: 1. 27-Keith Rauch; 2. 2-Bob Harr; 3. 10-Lance Bennett; 4. 74-Zach Merritt; 5. 15gCarson
Garrett; 6. 4-AJ Valim; 7. 14-Tony Rossi; 8. 76-Mark Hamilton; 9. 43-Ryan Oerter; 10. 11-Genn
–Nebraska Mod Lites Feature: 1. 54n-Scott Naggatz; 2. 24b-Brandon Piersol; 3. 12-Steve Moock; 4.
12s-Doug Pollock; 5. 21t-Taylor Pollock; 6. 00-Troy Reeves; 7. 88c-Steve Paul; 8. 82r-Gary Piersol; 9. 8dDennis
Porter; 10. 70-Ashley Witherwax.
–IMCA Modified Feature: 1. 50c-Colton Osborn; 2. XII-Jay Steffens; 3. 0hp-Bryan Herrick; 4. 4p-Dave
Pedersen; 5. 20b-Brandon Clough; 6. 93h-Klancey Honeycutt.
–IMCA Northern Sport Modified feature: 1. 55m-Tony Schultz; 2. 20k-Cody DeWester; 3. 01-Jacob
Wolsleben; 4. 88-Eric Kackmeister; 5. 12j-Kerry Jones; 6. 511-Zach Buesing; 7. 3-Gary Long; 8. 69-Adam
Kackmeister; 9. 59-Tyler Rajdl; 10. 57-Shane Jones.
–IMCA Stock Car Feature: 1. 35jw-Casey Woken; 2. 6c-Cale Osborn; 3. 71-Andrew Dillenburg; 4. 5dTravis
Demilt; 5. 24-Bob Chalupa; 6. 75-Dan Eller; 7. 16w-Jeff Whiting; 8. 47-Russ Small Jr; 9. 72h-Jim
Hagan; 10. 31-Darin Racek.
–IMCA Hobby Stock Feature: 1. 72b-Jacob Hagan; 2. 29-Jeromy Wagner; 3. 5-Chuck Ledbetter; 4.
12t-Tanner Jones; 5. 20b-Brady Henderson.
–IMCA Sport Compact Feature: 1. 44u-Andrew Dillenburg; 2. 00d-Daryl Cauffman; 3. L2-Lonnie
Lenser Jr.; 4. 24u-Tom Baumgardner; 5. 7e-Quincy Eggleston; 6. 46e-Kinzie Eggleston; 7. 84d-Kaden
Dady; 8. 71c-Christian Destefano.