Humphrey St. Francis (D2) and Omaha Skutt (B) Win State Football Championships

Humphrey St. Francis claimed their fifth state football championship by defeating Pleasanton for the D2 title Monday at Lincoln’s Memorial Stadium.  St. Francis jumped out early and never looked back as they rolled to a 70-16 win.  The Flyers scored touchdowns on 9 of their 10 possessions in the game and were led by Trevor Pfeifer who accounted for 6 touchdowns and had 3 interceptions on defense.  HSF ends the season undefeated at 13-0 while Pleasanton finishes at 10-3 which was a 6+ game improvement from last season.

For the second year in a row, Omaha Skutt defeated Scottsbluff for the Class B championship Monday night.  Skutt grabbed the momentum at the end of the first half when Scottsbluff quarterback Sabastian Harsh was stopped on fourth and goal from inside the one with under a minute to go in the 2nd quarter which allowed Skutt to hang on to a 13-7 lead at the half.  Skutt extended the lead to 21-7 in the third quarter.  Scottsbluff would fight back in the fourth quarter behind the play of their star quarterback Sabastian Harsh.  Harsh would run for two touchdowns in the final quarter including one with 2:35 remaining in the game to make the score 21-20.  The Bearcats would elect to go for the 2 point conversion and the lead but Sabastian Harsh was stopped short.  Skutt was then able to run out the clock and collect their 5th state football title.  Sabastian Harsh finished with 216 yards rushing on 42 carries for Scottsbluff.  Skutt was led by Grant Diesing who finished with 120 yards rushing on just 10 carries.

Three more championships will be decided on Tuesday.  It will be a battle of unbeatens for the C1 championship when Pierce meets Wahoo.  The C2 championship features Sutton against Oakland Craig and the Class A title game will feature Bellevue West against Omaha Westside.