Broken Bow Well Represented on SWC All Conference Basketball Teams

The Southwest Conference has released its all conference selections for the 2020-21 high school basketball season.  Broken Bow placed two athletes on the girls all conference first team.  Senior Kali Staples was a first team selection for the fourth time in her career and helped lead Broken Bow to four straight Southwest Conference girls tournament titles.  Staples holds the school records for most assists in a career and season.  She averaged 9.5 points, 4.1 rebounds, and 5.4 assists per game this past season.  Junior Kya Scott was a first team selection for the second straight year.  Scott led Broken Bow in scoring this season averaging 13 points per game.  Kya also broke the school record for most three point shots (128) made in a career.  The record was previously held by Megan Ellis who had 124.  Broken Bow’s Kailyn Scott was a second team all conference selection.  Scott averaged 9.8 points, 4.1 rebounds, and 3.4 steals per game.  Broken Bow girls head basketball coach Kelly Cooksley was honored as the SWC girls coach of the year.  Cooksley just concluded his fourth year as head coach.  The Lady Indians have compiled an overall record of 78 wins and 23 losses during that time.

Keegan Baxter of Broken Bow was a first team all SWC boys selection.  Baxter led Broken Bow in scoring this season with one of his top scoring performances coming against Ainsworth on December 18th finishing with a team high 22 points.  Broken Bow senior Blake Denson was a third team selection.  Broken Bow finished at 11-11 this past season, a six game improvement over last year.  Ogallala’s Andy Gillen was honored as the SWC boys coach of the year.

SWC Girls All Conference

1st team
Kali Staples – Broken Bow – Senior
Kya Scott – Broken Bow – Junior
Sarah Hultquist – Minden – Senior
Annica Harm – Gothenburg – Senior
Milan Coggins – Ogallala – Senior

2nd team
Kendyl Delimont – Ainsworth – Freshman
Bria Delimont – Ainsworth – Junior
Kailyn Scott – Broken Bow – Junior
Tiara Matson – McCook – Senior
Kynlee Strauser – Gothenburg – Sophomore

3rd team
Shawna Wilkinson – McCook – Sophomore
Megan Dyer – Cozad – Sophomore
Sloane Beck – Minden – Sophomore
Taylor Trumper – Ogallala – Senior
Kailee Kellum – Valentine – Sophomore

SWC Boys All Conference

1st team
Jacob Weatherly – Cozad – Junior
Dayo Kennedy – Ogallala – Senior
Mark Arp – McCook – Senior
Jeron Gager – Ogallala – Sophomore
Keegan Baxter – Broken Bow – Junior

2nd team
Carter Nelson – Ainsworth – Freshman
Corbin Murphy – Ogallala – Junior
Caden Bradley – Minden – Sophomore
Wes Geiken – Gothenburg – Sophomore
Kadyn Marhenke – Ogallala – Senior

3rd team
Blake Denson – Broken Bow – Senior
Evan Humphrey – McCook – Sophomore
Jacob Engel – Cozad – Senior
Quentin Gillen – Ogallala – Senior
Carter Harsin – Minden – Sophomore