Broken Bow Places 4th in C1 at State Volleyball Tournament – Valasek Named to C1 All Tournament Team

The Broken Bow volleyball team completed its 2019 volleyball season Saturday when they met Wahoo in the C1 third place consolation match at the 2019 NSAA state volleyball championships.  Broken Bow defeated Wayne in the opening round of the tournament Thursday winning 3 sets to 1.  The Lady Indians then fell to top seed St. Paul in the semifinals 3 sets to 1 to send them into the consolation match.  In the consolation, Wahoo won the opening set 25-21.  Broken Bow came back to win the second 25-16.  Wahoo won the third 25-18 and then closed it out in the fourth 25-16.  The Warriors got a big match from Mya Larson who led all players with 23 kills.  Majesta Valasek led the Broken Bow attack with 16 kills and also led the team in digs with 19.  Kailyn Scott finished with 33 set assists.  Broken Bow received the 4th place trophy and finished one of the best seasons in school history with an overall record of 33-4.  Broken Bow’s Majesta Valasek received the honor of being named to the Class C1 state volleyball All-Tournament team. In the Class C1 championship match, Lincoln Lutheran denied St. Paul an undefeated season as the Warriors claimed the title winning 3 sets to 1 (25-27, 25-20, 30-28, 25-19).

Class C1 All Tournament Team
Marriah Buss, Lincoln Lutheran
Mya Larson, Wahoo
Abi Wohlgemuth, Lincoln Lutheran
Brooke Poppert, St. Paul
Josie Jakubowski, St. Paul
Majesta Valasek, Broken Bow
S: Paige Trutna, Lincoln Lutheran

Championship Saturday Results
Class A
Papillion LaVista South defeats Gretna 3-2 (27-25, 21-25, 25-22, 18-25, 15-7)

Class B
Omaha Skutt defeats Omaha Duchesne 3-0 (25-14, 25-12, 25-16)

Class C2
GICC defeats Hastings St. Cecilia 3-0 (26-24, 25-22, 25-15)
Lutheran High Northeast defeats Superior 3-1 (25-15. 19-25, 25-18, 25-21)

Class D1
Diller Odell defeats Archbishop Bergan 3-0 (25-19, 25-17, 25-22)
Pleasanton defeats Hartington CC 3-2 (26-28, 25-21, 25-23, 21-25, 15-11)

Class D2
BDS defeats Humphrey St. Francis 3-2 (26-24, 25-16, 19-25, 18-25, 16-14)
Lawrence Nelson defeats Wynot 3-0 (25-23, 25-18, 25-20)