Area Basketball Players Receive All State Recognition from Lincoln Journal Star

The Lincoln Journal Star has released its all state basketball selections for the 2020-21 basketball season.  Broken Bow’s Kali Staples was a Class C1 girls all state second team selection.  The senior helped lead Broken Bow to its first state tournament appearance since 2003 and helped the Lady Indians claim its fourth straight SWC girls tournament championship this season.  Staples averaged 9.5 points per game.  Samantha Moore of Mullen was a girls Class D2 all state first team selection.  The Mullen senior had an outstanding season helping lead the Lady Broncos to a third place finish at this year’s girls state tournament.  Moore averaged 17 points and 4 rebounds per game.  Barak Birch of Burwell was a boys Class D1 all state second team selection.  Birch helped the Longhorns go undefeated in the regular season and qualify for the boys state basketball tournament.  Birch averaged 15.6 points per game this season.  Clayton Moore of Mullen was a Class D2 all state second team boys selection.  Moore helped Mullen win the MNAC boys tournament title this year, the D2-1 district title, and qualify for the boys state tournament.  Moore, a sophomore, averaged 12.6 points per game this season.

Receiving honorable mention girls – Broken Bow—Kya Scott, Kailyn Scott, Halle McCaslin, Kassidy Cyboron, Gothenburg—Kynlee Strauser, Annica Harm, Ashlyn Richeson, Clara Evert, Arcadia-Loup City—Jessia Stieb, Burwell—Carlee Helgoth, Hannah Gurney, South Loup—Landyn Cole, Megan Donegan, Ava Pandorf, Ansley-Litchfield—Kaylee Rohde, Carli Bailey; Anselmo-Merna—Jaide Chandler, Kaitlyn Jacquot, Hadlee Safranek, Shaylyn Safranek, Kirsten Meyers, Sandhills Valley—Jaylen Dimmitt, Mullen—Taylor Svoboda, Brooke McCully, Shelby Welsh, Kylie Licking, S-E-M—Abbie Rohde, Faith Hernandez, Mikah O’Neill; Sandhills-Thedford—Madison Marten, Tenley Rasmussen,

Receiving honorable mention – boys – Cozad—Jacob Weatherly, Jacob Engel, Gothenburg—Wes Geiken, Arcadia-Loup City—Jadyn Scott, Drew Lewandowski, Ansley-Litchfield—Caden Holm, Jeff Cunningham, Calvin Finley, Tycen Bailey; Anselmo-Merna—Dalton Duryea, Burwell—Carter Mann, Levi Bode, Dillon Critel, Sandhills-Thedford—Dane Pokorny; Sandhills Valley—Cole Kramer, Ethan Nicholson, South Loup—Drew Vickers, Trey Connell, Mullen—Brendon Walker, Trevor Kuncl, Sumner-Eddyville-Miller—Creyton Line, Carson Rohde; Twin Loup— Quincey Ryker