Area Athletes to Compete in Mister Basketball Kearney All-Star Basketball Games

The UNK Health and Sports Center will once against host the 27th annual Mister Basketball Kearney Senior girls and boys all star basketball games. The games will take place Sunday (July 14). The girls game will tip off at 6:30 with the boys game to follow at 7:30. In spite of the recent flooding that hit the Kearney area, the all star games will be played as scheduled. However, the Miss Basketball Showcase which was scheduled for July 12-14 has been cancelled. Organizers said that without lodging due to the motels being shut down because of flooding there was no option but to cancel the event.

Several athletes from the KCNI/KBBN coverage area have been chosen to participate in this year’s all star games.

Broken Bow girls head basketball coach Kelly Cooksley will coach the blue team in this year’s girls all star game. Taylor Ference of Arcadia/Loup City and Falan Ryan of Ansley/Litchfield will be among those suiting up for the blue team on Sunday. Emma Hoffscheider of Burwell will be on the opposing side as she suits up for the red team which will be coached by Alyssa Prososki of Axtell.

In the boys game, Kalen Dockweiler of South Loup, Josh Harvey of Broken Bow, Chris Paitz of Ansley/Litchfield, and Dillon Geiser of Cozad will be among the participants. Dockweiler and Harvey will suit up for the black team coached by Drake Beranek (head boys basketball coach at Kearney High) while Paitz and Geiser will play for the red team coached by Centura’s Dave Oman.

The Complete rosters for the Kearney Senior All-Star Games are listed below:

Coach Kelly Cooksley, Broken Bow

Taryn Hadwiger Amherst
Joslyn North Arapahoe
Mariah Watson Arapahoe
Alexis Mishou Kearney High
Taylor Ference Loup City
Falan Ryan Ansley Litchfield
Dakota Hughes Alma
Kaleigh Kummer NP St. Pat’s
Hayley Homan NP St. Pat’s

Coach Alyssa Prososki, Axtell

Abby Quadhamer Wilcox-Hildreth
Camille Fishell Axtell
McKenna Schmidt Ravenna
Meghan Fisher Pleasanton
Emma Hoffschneider Burwell
Allie Bauer Elm Creek
Alex Bauer Minden
Kaleigh Johnson Centura
Lydia Hill Ord

Drake Beranek, Kearney High

Kalen Dockweiler South Loup
Tyler Callahan Bertrand
Yordi Gutierrez Arapahoe
Carson Schroeder Arapahoe
Jaden Engen Kearney High
Carson Schwarz Kearney High
Elijah Lovin Minden
Josh Harvey Broken Bow
Nolan Sughroue Adams Central

Coach Dave Oman, Centura High

Ben Oman Centura
Dalton Schmitt Kearney Catholic
Dillon Geiser Cozad
Ajack Waikur Lexington
Hayden Grint Ord
Izaiah Gomez Gibbon
Tanner Hermann Wood River
Christopher Paitz Ansley-Litchfield
Braden Kizer Overton