8 Man All Star Football Game and Hall of Fame Induction set for Saturday

The 41st annual Sertoma 8-man All Star football game will take place Saturday evening at Hastings College. Kickoff for the game is scheduled for 6pm. Several area athletes will help represent the West squad this year. Among them are : Cameron Downey of Anselmo-Merna, Alex Horky and Hunter Kraus of Twin Loup, Jack Rush and Blake Schwarz of South Loup, Thomas Hughes of Burwell, and Tell Spies of Mullen. The West squad will be coached by Luke Gideon. Joining him on the staff will be Mullen coach Mitch Pfeiffer, Jon Coffey of Blue Hill, and Mike Max of Burwell.

Also, that evening, two coaches, 14 players, and two contributors will be inducted into the 8 man football hall of fame. The induction ceremony will be held at halftime of the game. Among this year’s honorees will be Jim Scott. Scott who currently serves as branch president for Bruning State Bank in Broken Bow was a standout for the Ansley Warriors football machine in the mid to late 80’s and went on to play for the University of Nebraska.

Here is a full list of this year’s Hall of Fame honorees.

Members of the Class of 2018 include: Players- Nolan Beyer (Sidney St. Patrick), Terry Connealy (Hyannis), Brent Gatzemeyer (Bancroft-Rosalie), Scott Gray (Coleridge), Craig Hass (Beemer), La Vane Johnson (Eagle), Ken Mehlin (Humboldt), Lynn Menke (Marquette), Randy Rasmussen (Elba), Jim Scott (Ansley), Dean Steinkuler (Sterling), and Dale Van Housen (Polk-Hordville). Coach- Ron Peck (Beemer), Family Legacy- Coach Bill Mimick (Monroe/ Lynch/Spencer-Naper/Newman Grove/Humphrey-Lindsay Holy Family), and sons Jeff and Tom Mimick (Spencer-Naper), Contributors- Bobby Mills (Historian), and Russ Batenhorst (All-Star Game Announcer).