2018 SORC Champions Crowned

2018 SORC Champions Crowned
Car #126 driven by Mike Black. Champion of the 105 mph class at 2018 SORC

The 18th Sandhills Open Road Challenge took place Saturday. Champions were crowned in 9 different speed classes. The goal is to be closest to perfect in time and speed during the 55 mile race. Fred Schneider of Beemer, NE and navigator Terri Schneider took first in the 80 mph class finishing under perfect time by .975 seconds. The 90 mph class was won by Ken Rees of North Las Vegas, NV and navigator Mike Rees of Colorado Springs. They finished just .181 seconds over perfect time. The 95 mph class title went north of the border to Robert and Matthew Marzetti of Oakville, Ontario, Canada. Driving a 2019 Corvette, they finished .071 over perfect time. Lanny Lowman of Henderson, NV took first in the 100 mph class finishing .076 seconds under perfect time. The 105 mph winners were Mike and Janet Black of Garland, TX who were .010 off perfect time. It was a big weekend for Chad Riley of Papillion, NE. Riley was crowned “King of the Hill” in the 1/2 mile shootout on Friday and won the 110 mph class on Saturday by finishing .114 seconds over perfect time. Brian Haskett of Tomball, TX and navigator Floyd Haskett, Jr. of Katy, TX took first in the 115 class by finishing .058 under perfect time and AJ Meadows of Midland, TX teamed with Kendra Meadows to win the 120 mph class by finishing .685 seconds under perfect time. This year’s race also featured the 90 mph extreme class where drivers are not allowed to go over 90 mph. Kirk Sharp and Kort Grooms of Valentine, NE were the champions by averaging a speed of 86.365 mph.

Another successful car show in Arnold
Car #65, a crowd favorite