Multiple Awards Given At Custer County 4-H Recognition Night

CUSTER COUNTY—The Custer County 4-H Recognition Night was held Friday, November 16 at the Broken Bow City Auditorium. The event is sponsored annually by the Nebraska State Bank and Trust Co. and Arrow Seed Co., Inc., in conjunction with the Nebraska Extension in Custer County.

The 2018 Outstanding 4-H Leader Award was presented to Tamara Nichols. Tamara currently serves as the organizational leader of the Thumbs-Up 4-H Club. This award is sponsored by the Custer County 4-H Council and the Nebraska 4-H Foundation.

The Custer County 4-H Council selected Adams Land & Cattle as the 2018 “Friend of 4-H”, for their contributions and support of the Custer County 4-H program. The Leo C. Cooksley Memorial Award was presented to BaiLee McMillan of Milburn. The Cooksley family presented the award based on McMillan’s leadership, citizenship, and courage shown at the county fair and in the 4-H and FFA programs.

A new Joyce Clarke Memorial Community Service Award was presented to the Sandhill Critters 4-H Club for their excellence in 4-H community service projects during the past year.

Two and five year members received membership pins. 4-H leaders received recognition for their 2, 5, 10, 15, 20, and 25 years of service.

The following 4-H’ers received awards:

Outstanding 4-H Girl: Antonia Oberg
Champion All-Around Exhibitor: Karla Nichols
Champion 4-H Clothing Exhibitor: Emma Olson
Champion 4-H Home Environment Exhibitor: Makayla Rehbein
Champion 4-H Foods Exhibitors: Jaide Chandler & Grace Cantrell
Best All-Around 4-H Home Economics Exhibitor: Maggie Birkel
Most Improved 4-H Shooter: Alexis Solano
Top 4-H Shooter: Dylan Glendy
Top 4-H .22 Shooter: Courtney Kastens
Beef Medal: Mahaya Jones
Clothing & Textiles Medal: Hannah Pearson
Fashion Revue Medals: Annabelle Nichols & Antonia Oberg
Food & Nutrition Medal: Jaden Baker-Welch
Goat Medal: Mahaya Jones
Bill Pedersen 4-H Horse Award: Hesston Swisher
Sheep Medal: Darla Nichols
Veterinary Science Medal: BaiLee McMillan
Wildlife & Fisheries Medal: Jaden Baker-Welch
Woodworking Medal: Karla Nichols
Angus Breed Money: Braxon Rynearson, Bailey
Christen, Tatum Seevers, Emmet
Grint, Archer Grint, Riata Remund,
Oran Grint, Emmett Palmer
Hereford Breed Money: Owen Stallbaumer, Hannah
Pearson, Mariah Lane, Gillian
Sherbeck, Maggie Peterson,
Kaygan Witthuhn, Atlynn Witthuhn
Charolais Breed Money: Brant Schmidt, Halie Racicky,
Malloree Bartak, Paige Stunkel,
Carlee Bartak
Simmental Breed Money: Tyce Porter, Tara Geiser, Wyatt
Porter, McKenna Palmer, Hannah
Pearson, Chase Racicky
Shorthorn Breed Money: Mariah Lane, Lauryn Hardy,
Brianna Glendy, Mariah Lane,
Ryan Beck
Club with the largest percentage of members: Sandhill Critters 4-H Club in the 4-H Public Speaking Contest
Nebraska 4-H Club of Excellence Awards: Four Valleys 4-H Club,
Great Connections 4-H Club
Diamond Clover Awards: Abigail Wiiest

2018 Outstanding 4-H Leader- Tamara Nichols (left) presented by Coleen Peterson, 4-H Aide, on behalf of the Custer County 4-H Council.
Joyce Clarke Memorial Community Service Award presented to the Sandhill Critters 4-H Club by members of the Clarke family. (Lisa McMillan presenting check, and Christy Berghorst…left of Lisa McMillan)
2018 Leo C. Cooksley Memorial Award presented to BaiLee McMillan (center) by Leah Peterson (left) and Maggie Peterson (right) on behalf of the Cooksley Family.
2018 “Friend of 4-H” awarded to Adams Land & Cattle. Presented by Troy Walz, Extension Educator, on behalf of the Custer County 4-H Council.