Dawson County Extension Board Elects Officers For 2021

Dawson County Extension Board Elects Officers For 2021
Members of the 2021 Dawson County Extension Board are: (front row, left to right) Phillip Burkhalter, Elwood; Eric Ryan, Overton; Da’Lacy Lans, Lexington; (back row, left to right) Rocio Casanova, Lexington; Kristi Kreuscher, Gothenburg; Robb Stieb, Lexington; Mike Anderson, Gothenburg; and Pam Bourn, Lexington. Not pictured, but also serving on the board are B.J. Malcom, Cozad, and Jody Laird, Cozad.

Dawson County Extension Board members recently elected officers for 2021 during their annual meeting.

Phillip Burkhalter of Elwood was elected president and Eric Ryan of Overton, vice president. The other elected officer was Da’Lacy Lans of Lexington, secretary/treasurer. Other members serving on the 2021 Extension Board are Mike Anderson, Gothenburg; Pam Bourn, Lexington; Rocio Casanova, Lexington; Kristi Kreuscher, Gothenburg; Jody Laird, Cozad; Robb Stieb, Lexington; and B.J. Malcom, Cozad.

The board for Extension in Dawson County is made up of two representatives from each of the five Commissioners’ districts. The Extension Board is appointed by the County Commissioners and given the responsibility of overseeing the research-based Extension educational program in the county, in cooperation with the University of Nebraska Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

The program’s effectiveness can be credited to local participation in determining program directions and objectives, said Dawson County Extension Educator Bruce Treffer. Extension in America is a unique educational model of cooperation at the federal, state and county levels, he said.

The board meetings are open to the public and are generally the first Tuesdays every other month at 7 p.m. at the Dawson County Fairgrounds.