Custer County 4-H Recognition Night Held November 15; 4-H Council Members Elected

Custer County 4-H Recognition Night Held November 15; 4-H Council Members Elected

The Custer County 4-H Recognition Night was held Friday, November 15 at the Broken Bow City Auditorium. The event is sponsored annually by the Nebraska State Bank and Trust Co. and Arrow Seed Co., Inc., in conjunction with the Nebraska Extension in Custer County. 

The 2019 Outstanding 4-H Leader Award was presented to Lisa McMillan and Megan Bachman. They are currently serving as the organizational leaders of the Four Corners 4-H Club. This award is sponsored by the Custer County 4-H Council and the Nebraska 4-H Foundation. 

The Custer County 4-H Council selected Evans Feed-Mike Evans as the 2019 “Friend of 4- H”, for their contributions and support of the Custer County 4-H program. 

The Leo C. Cooksley Memorial Award was presented to Colleen Peterson, 4-H Aide. The Cooksley family presented the award based on Peterson’s leadership, citizenship, and courage shown at the county fair and in the 4-H youth programming. 

The Joyce Clarke Memorial Community Service Award was presented to the Four Corners 4-H Club for their excellence in 4-H community service projects during the past year. 

Two and five year members received membership pins. 4-H leaders received recognition for their 2, 5, 10, 15, and 20 years of service. 

The following 4-H’ers received awards: 

Outstanding 4-H Girl- Sadye Glendy 

Champion All-Around Exhibitor- Darla Nichols 

Champion 4-H Clothing Exhibitor- Joslyn Reiff 

Champion 4-H Home Environment Exhibitor- Mia Rikli 

Champion 4-H Foods Exhibitors- Grace Cantrell 

Best All-Around 4-H Home Economics Exhibitor- Aubrie Birkel 

Most Improved 4-H Shooter- Bereket Glendy 

Top 4-H Shooter- Dylan Glendy 

Top 4-H .22 Shooter- Dylan Glendy 

Citizenship Medal- Darla Nichols 

Clothing & Textiles Medal- Katie Olson 

Goat Medals- Karla Nichols & Maysa Jones 

Leadership Medals- Jaden Baker-Welch & Darla Nichols 

Communications Medal- Mahaya Jones 

Bill Pedersen 4-H Horse Award- Tiana Hurlburt 

Home Environment Medal- Mahaya Jones 

Human Development/Child Care Medal- Maysa Jones 

Visual Arts Medal- Maysa Jones 

Dog Medal- Mahaya Jones 

4-H Beef Hardluck Award- Karsyn Shaw 

Angus Breed Money- Kali Nelson, Breken Rynearson, Braxon Rynearson, Raylee Bachman, Mahaya Jones, Maysa Jones, Emmett Palmer, Ava Bottorf, Emersyn Palmer 

Hereford Breed Money- Owen Stallbaumer, Hannah Pearson, Abby Stallbaumer, Kaygan Witthuhn, Atlynn Witthuhn, Emma Stallbaumer 

Charolais Breed Money- Halie Racicky, Brant Schmidt, Rylee Schmidt, Brice Chaplin, Bryce Schmidt, Regan Babcock 

Simmental Breed Money- Tyce Porter, Charli Pandorf, Wyatt Porter, Chase Racicky, McKenna Palmer, Brennan Beran, Rileigh Beran 

Shorthorn Breed Money- Regan Babcock, Lainey Palmer, Andrew Hardy, Lauryn Hardy 

Club with the largest percentage of members- Sandhill Critters 4-H Club in the 4-H Public Speaking Contest 

Nebraska 4-H Club of Excellence Awards- Four Valleys 4-H Club, Great Connections 4-H Club 

Diamond Clover Awards- Abigail Wiiest, Maysa Jones, Mahaya Jones 


Eleven members were elected to the Custer County 4-H Council at the recent 4-H Recognition Night. The purpose of the 4-H Council is to fulfill the mission of the 4-H and youth development education program of Nebraska Extension in cooperation with Extension Staff and the Extension Board without regards to race, color, sex, religion, age, national origin, or handicap. The 4-H Council is made up of 22 members who each serve a two-year term. The terms are staggered in such a manner that one-half of the membership will be elected/re-elected each year. 

Newly elected/re-elected members include Ben Quandt, Sargent; Carlie Wells, Merna; Jen Schmidt, Merna; Matt Peterson, Weissert; Kimberly Stump, Broken Bow; Peter Pelster, Arnold; Joyce Racicky, Mason City; Cliff Bryan, Oconto; Jeff Witthuhn, Callaway; Isabelle Stallbaumer, Oconto; Sam Loy, Berwyn. 

Current members whose terms expire at the end of 2020 include Kyla Olson, Sargent; Holly Bumgarner, Anselmo; Chad Coleman, Anselmo; Christy Berghorst, Berwyn; Chase Christen, Broken Bow; Holly Remund, Arnold; Doug Nichols, Miller; Marla Stallbaumer, Oconto; Peg Stryker, Callaway; Graycee Oeltjen, Broken Bow; Logan Peterson, Arnold. 

4-H Council meetings are held on the third Monday of every other month, beginning in January, at the 4-H Building and are open to the public.