A-M FFA Chapter Awards Jackets To New Active Members

A-M FFA Chapter Awards Jackets To New Active Members
The jacket recipients are: back row left to right are: Clayton Hazen, Jayden Russell, Halsey Baxter, Seyna Ndiaye, Kayley Klein, Kaycee Koinzan; front row: MaKensie Saner, Sadie Stewart, Rylee Schmidt, Makenna Miller, Adyson Priest, Riley Marsh, Mackenzie Burnett. Not present was Josiah Griffith

The Anselmo-Merna FFA chapter was chartered in 2011, and we will be celebrating our 10th year of existence in 2021. The year 2020 has been a challenging year for everyone, and it has taught our members to work and improve the skills that they can develop. The members are preparing for Career Development Events that will be coming up next semester.

Members are also working on State Degrees and individual proficiency awards.  Chapter members are conducting three agriscience projects to determine the sugar content of strawberry varieties and two projects on the effects of foliar fertilizer on lettuce, arugula, and spinach.

Junior High Officers (L-R): President Rylee Schmidt, Vice President Clayton Hazen, Secretary Kaycee Koinzan, Treasurer Kayley Klein, Reporter Sadie Stewart, Sentinel MaKensie Saner.

The Anselmo-Merna FFA chapter awarded FFA jackets to new active members. On  December 7, 2020, the junior high and freshmen FFA members that are enrolled in an Agricultural Education class and participating in an FFA LDE (Leadership Development Events) were awarded new FFA jackets to begin their FFA career.

The jacket ceremony emphasized the history and importance that the jacket will play in their lives. Also, their responsibility to maintain the integrity of what the jacket means and represents.

The FFA chapter officers interviewed qualified candidates from the eighth-grade class for a new Junior High Officer team. They will conduct the junior high meetings and fill in for Senior Officers when needed. Since they meet during the 6th-hour class, they will present their ideas and activities at the regular chapter meetings.

2020-2021 FFA Officers (L-R): President Tyson Nelson, Vice President Michaela Myers, Secretary Kristyn Hazen, Treasurer Emmalee Bartak, Reporter Sam McMillan, Sentinel Zane Kreikemeier, and Advisor Mr. Lonnie Koepke.